The town of Portofino is located in the western part of the Gulf of Tigullio, set in one of the most beautiful bays in the world.
The entire municipal area is included in the Portofino Regional Natural Park and the homonymous Marine Protected Area.
According to Pliny the Elder, the village of Portofino was founded during the Roman Empire under the name of “Portus Delphini” due, according to historians, for the large population of these animals (dolphins) in the Gulf of Tigullio.
Portofino has always been famous as a favorite destination of the international jet-set and for shooting famous movies and hosting famous events.
For example in 1992 the town appears in some scenes of Vanzinas brothers film “California Dreaming” and in that of the director Mike Newell in “Enchanted April”
Some episodes of “Beautiful” and “Centovetrine” were filmed in the charming village.
Portofino was also chosen for a concert of the singer and tenor Andrea Bocelli which was released on DVD titled “Love in Portofino”.
La Piazzetta is the main symbol of Portofino and very unique; it’s famous for the celebrities who daily visit it, on it overlook some of the historical places of Italy, always a meeting point of the “Dolce Vita” and the international jet set.
Church of San Giorgio
The original structure can be traced at the time of the Lombards, when in the territory were operating the monks of San Colombano.
The present building, rebuilt in the fifties of the twentieth century after being destroyed by bombing, reflects the plant, revised and amended in the important 1760 restoration.
The church has a Romanesque style and inside are kept the relics of St. George, patron saint of Portofino, brought by Portofino’s sailors, veterans of the Crusades.
The building began as a military building as it’s located in a convenient location close to the Gulf of Tigullio and for this purpose in the sixteenth century the Republic of Genoa began major renovations and expansions to further strengthen the protection of the seaside village.
Subsequently, in 1867, the fortress was bought by the consul of the United Kingdom to Genoa – Sir Montague Yeats Brown – and thus became noble building; the structure was modified according to the architectural and interior kit that time that led to a raising of the towers, and to the transformation of the old parade ground in a roof garden.