The Gulf Paradiso (Paradise) is a small bay located on the coast of the eastern part of the Gulf of Genoa, in the Ligurian Sea, whose area is squeezed between the great town of Genoa and Portofino promontory.
The main cities are Recco and Camogli; the first is famous for its cheese focaccia, water polo and the fireworks of September 8, the second for the anchovies, sailing ships and colorful houses overlooking the sea.
The small village of San Fruttuoso is immersed in the Regional Natural Park of Portofino which is made from the homonymous promontory and 3 municipalities: Camogli with the nucleus of San Rocco, San Nicholas and San Fruttuoso; Portofino and Santa Margherita Ligure, with the nucleus of Paraggi and Nozarego.
The Abbey of San Fruttuoso
The Abbey of San Fruttuoso of Capodimonte is dedicated to San Fruttuoso of Tarragona, the Catalan bishop and saint of the third century, whose ashes are kept at the abbey, where they would be transferred next to the Arab invasion of the Iberian Peninsula.
The site is not accessible by road, there can only be accessed by sea or along two panoramic trails.
Christ of the Abyss
The Christ of the Abyss is a bronze statue placed in 1954 on the backdrop of the bay of San Fruttuoso, between Camogli and Portofino, 15 meters deep.
The statue, with and height of about 2.50 meters was created by the sculptor Guido Galletti and was put thanks to the Italian Navy about 17 meters deep; it was brought to the depth thanks to many divers.As a curiosity it is emphasized that to get the bronze needed were cast medals, naval elements and bells.
The arms of Christ are upturned, ideally addressed to God in heaven, are open as a sign of peace.
Punta Chiappa is a small rock that juts out over the sea from the promontory of Portofino west side; It is part of the municipality of Camogli, the Park of Portofino and the homonymous Marine Protected Area.
The settlement is merely a small collection of houses that develops around an ancient water mill; while the church of St. Nicholas is considered one of the oldest existing Abbeys in Liguria.
The Fish Feast
The second Sunday of May, in the picturesque scenery and unique Piazza Colombo, at the marina, there is the Fish Festival. Founded as a spontaneous gesture of some Camogli inhabitants who decided in 1952 to give residents and visitors a fish fry, this nice tradition became very important for the city. The symbol of the festival is the pan in which it is fried the fish to be distributed, through the efforts of many volunteers, to all the participants.
Positioned along the cliff with a wide view on the Golfo Paradiso, the hamlet of San Rocco is 6 km away from the city center of Camogli. The village can be reached hiking over a trail that goes uphill among olive trees all along the valley of Rio Gentile and connects the south-east part of the town. The trail leads directly to the churchyard of the local parish of San Rocco, and from there to Punta Chiappa or San Fruttuoso. Halfway you will find the Romanic church of San Nicolò di Capodimonte.
La Sagra del Pesce
It takes place every second Sunday of May in the natural, picturesque and exclusive scenery of the marina in Piazza Colombo. The feast, organized by the local Touristic Association and under the patronage of the mayor of Camogli, is very well-known in Italy as well as abroad. They say the feast was born from the decision of some local people that in 1952 started to offer some fried fish to both their fellow citizens as well as tourists. This tradition has slowly been transformed into an important chance of communication and promotion of the touristic soul of the city. The symbol of the festival is the pan in which the fish is fried, thanks to the help of many volunteers that contribute to the success of the festival. It is related to the festivity of San Fortunato, patron saint of fishermen: the night before the festival, after the religious mass and the procession of the Arch of San Fortunato with the City of Camogli band, the famous bonfire takes place, where they set fire to the wooden sculptures made by the local people of the boroughs of Porto e Pinetto.