The Cinque Terre are five villages which are part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1997. The Cinque Terre villages origins date back to the eleventh century.
Monterosso is located in the center of a small natural gulf.
In Monterosso it has also stayed the poet Montale, which he recounted about in the poetry “I limoni (The lemons)”.
In Monterosso you could visit the Church of San Giovanni Battista in the old town and the Capuccini Monastery and the Church of San Francesco, where you can admire a painting attributed to van Dyck; between the military architectures will highlight the ancient castro Obertengo and the tower called “Aurora”.
Vernazza is remembered for the first time in 1080 as a maritime base of the Obertenghi.
Its characteristic marina makes it particularly impressive the berthing of the boats and the village is considered one of the most beautiful in Italy.
Guests can visit the Castle of the Doria, the Belforte Bastion and the guard tower and lookout on the headland.
Corniglia is characterized by the fact of being the only village of the Cinque Terre which does not directly face the sea. The origins of the village date back to the Roman era. In Corniglia you should visit the village with its narrow street.
Manarola is in the final stretch of the Groppo river’s valley and is characterized by the colorful houses, constituted by the typical houses Genoese that lean on each other on the main street.
Riomaggiore which is the original nucleus of Cinque Terre dates back to the eighth century, but was in the year one thousand that the population settles along the coast. In Riomaggiore you should visit the old town and the neo-Gothic church of San Giovanni Battista.